The Netherlands Wind Energy Association (NWEA) is the wind energy sector’s branch association. NWEA promotes the development of wind energy to achieve a sustainable Dutch energy supply. Together with, and on behalf of its members, NWEA is working on creating a robust wind energy sector, in combination with new and relevant policy.


On behalf of the sector, NWEA maintains contacts with national and regional authorities and politicians, with policy makers, with scientists and academic institutions, with businesses and with environmental and other NGOs in the Netherlands. This gives NWEA members their own voice in the national energy transition and climate discussions.

In addition, NWEA is active on topics such as subsidy policy, employment and training, safe working conditions, International Corporate Social Responsibility (ICSR) and the Environment and Planning Act. NWEA also participates in international partnerships, such as with foreign wind energy associations. The Export Commission, set up at the end of 2018, prioritises the promotion of members’ export opportunities. NWEA supports the sector with market information and an active calendar of events and trade missions.

You can find a list of all NWEA activities here.


NWEA actively invests in safe working conditions (Occupational Health and Safety catalogue) for the sector. Its widely supported Code of Conduct for Wind Energy promotes ways in which the Wind Energy can involve a community in new onshore wind energy projects. To support cooperation among participating authorities, developers and the community, NWEA has drawn up a Participation Plan Manual


If you are interested in becoming a member or would like more information, please contact us using this form or call us on +31 30 2316 977.


View our statutes here.


The Board of NWEA consists of:

Hans Timmers (Chairman, Executive Committee)

Jan Boorsma (Vice-chair, EC), RWE

Joris Truijens (Treasurer, EC), DNV

Cees de Haan (EC), Eneco

Axel Posthumus (EC), Energie Samen

Arthur Vermeulen (EC), Pure Energie

Gerard van Oostveen (EC), Vattenfall

Sophie Dingenen, Bird & Bird

Felix Olthuis, Coöperatie Kennemerwind

Bram van Noort, Enercon

Ward Gommeren, GE Renewable Energy

Koen van der Perk, Heerema Marine Contractors

Patrick Mans, iPS Powerful People

Natasja Sesink, Meemaken B.V.

Wouter Vandekerkhove, Ocean Winds

Steven Engels, Ørsted

Yme Hempenius, Part. windturbine exploitant

Marc Schmitz, Rabobank

Elke Delnooz, Shell WindEnergy

David-Pieter Molenaar, Siemens Gamesa

Rob Smit, Statkraft

Jan Willem van Wingerden, TU Delft

Arnoud Kuis, Van Oord Offshore Wind b.v.

Jaap van Hofwegen, Vestas

Sjoerd Sieburgh Sjoerdsma, Windpark Zeewolde

Our Premium members

Our Sponsor- and large members